HEPBURN – David 42nd Regiment 1st Battalion

Return to Runnymede EPF List

Click on images to view (if available) a larger image. Use your browser’s Back button to return to site.

42nd Regiment Royal Highland Cap Badge

NameHEPBURN – David
Regiment (s)42nd Regiment 1st Battalion (Black Watch)
Regiment Number (s) 410
Date/Age/Place/Trade or
Profession at Attestation
20th September 1825 / 19 years /Kilmarnock Ayr Scotland
Weaver
Description – Height
Complexion/Eyes/Hair/Scars
5 Ft 7 in
Fair / Grey / Grey / None
Overseas Service/DurationMalta – 4 years 20 days
Ionian Islands – 2 years 92 days
Bermuda – 2 years 201 days
Length of Service24 years 98 days
Rank/Date/Place of DischargePrivate / 26th March 1850 / Chatham Kent England
Campaign MedalsNone
Intended Residence at
Discharge
Perth Scotland
Pension Districts1850 Perth Scotland
1855 1st Glasgow
1856-1865 Western Australia
1865 South Australia
Pension Paid1/0d per diem
Date of Departure and Place
England or Ireland
5th June 1856 Plymouth England
Ship and Date of Arrival
Western Australia
RUNNYMEDE 7th September 1856
Date/Place of Birthc1806 Maybole Ayrshire Scotland
Date/Place of BaptismNot yet known
Father
Date/Place of Birth
Not yet known
Mother
Date/Place of Birth
Marriage
Not yet known
SiblingsNot yet known
1st Wife
Date of Birth or Baptism
Possibly McKAY Mary
B 1810 Perthshire Scotland
Date/Place of MarriagePossibly 17 September 1832 Berwick-upon-Tweed Northumberland England
Children by 1st WifeJohn b 1834 Aberdeenshire
Andrew b 1836 Edinburgh Scotland
Mary b 1846 Malta
Possible Marriage MILLS William 1861 Fremantle Western Australia
D 16 December 1878 (age 330 WA
George B 1848 Bermuda
D 6 July 1926 North Perth Western Australia
Bur Karrakatta Cemetery
James b 1851 Perthshire Scotland
Father of 1st wife
Date/Place of Birth
Not yet known
Mother of 1st wife
Date/Place of Birth
Marriage
Not yet known
Land Grants Western
Australia
None
Occupation after
Arrival
Not yet known
Newspaper ArticlesInquirer and Commercial News Wednesday 12 October 1864 page 2 Passenger list Sea Ripple
The West Australian Times Tuesday 11th November 1879 page 2 Passenger on Orwell
Departure from Western
Australia
9th October 1864 to South Australia
Date/Place of Death/Burial23rd January 1872 Adelaide Hospital South Australia
Not yet known
Date/Place of Death/Burial
Wife
Possibly 21st July 1877 Geraldton WA (age 68)
Will or ProbateNone known
Further InformationThe 1851 Census has recorded David as Daniel, he is working as a HS Weaver cotton with his wife Mary and Children John, Andrew, Mary, George and James at 139 South Street Perth Perthshire Scotland.
We do not know how many of his family came to WA as both John and Andrew were 22 and 20 years of age respectively, most probably his wife Mary and the three youngest children Mary, George and James who would have been aged 10, 8 and 5 years.
David Hepburn left WA alone on the Sea Ripple in 1864 leaving his family in WA. They do not appear to have followed him until George went in 1879 and he returned at a later date.
David Hepburn was admitted to the Royal Adelaide Hospital on 20 January 1872 where he died on 23 January 1872. At the time of his admission he said he was a married man age 64 years of the Presbyterian faith living at Oleena (place not found) his occupation was a shepherd and he was born Kilmarnoch Scotland. He had been 8 years in the Colony and arrived on the Sea Ripple.
Son George was also admitted to the hospital on two occasions, firstly on 29 December 1879 as a single man age 32, a Roman Catholic, living at Pirie Street and his occupation was ‘boots’ he said he was born in Scotland and had been 22 years in the Colony having arrived on the Runnymede. The second time on 27 June 1881 he was still single living at Sandergrove, occupation labourer born in Bermuda and had been 1 year 6 months in the Colony having arrived in the Orwell.
The confusion about the religion may be covered by the Bi-Centennial saying that George Hepburn born 1848 was baptised in the Catholic faith at New Norcia on 24 December 1876, he was buried as a Presbyterian.
The 42nd regiment was stationed at Malta for four years between 1843 and 1847 when they departed for Bermuda.